29 Gay SE – Peaches
This Georgian Country Manor was built in 1916 by Chester Idema, son of Old Kent Bank founder Henry Idema. When Chester and his family lived here, they had 2 live-in maids, a full time cook, a full time laundress, and a full time chauffeur. Today’s hosts use their home as a Bed and Breakfast, affectionately named Peaches. Inside the estate features many family antiques and an expanding original artwork collection. Perennial gardens surround the home.
454 Wealthy SE – The Puritan
The Puritan Flats was built in 1910 on land on which the Grand Rapids Sanitarium stood for years. It was originally a 12-unit apartment building. The present owner, Keith Cannon, purchased the Puritan after a fire earlier this year. Two unique apartments will be open showcasing the work of the numerous craftspeople involved in the restoration. The third floor apartment with its cathedral ceilings has two open balconies with great views of the city.
301 Crescent NE
This 2000 square foot duplex was originally built in 1908 by Louis Goldberg, a prominent downtown pawnbroker. The numerous windows and French doors give this perfectly restored home a great view of downtown living. Antiques and art adorn the home.
40 College NE
This 1892 Queen Anne created a lot of excitement in Heritage Hill a few years back when the owner began removing aluminum siding installed on the home approximately 40 years ago. Discovered under the siding were a number of original windows and the outline of missing carved wood pieces, clapboards, fancy-butt shingles and carved eave brackets, the majority of which were replicated by hand on all 3 stories. Gardens for all seasons frame this impressive home.
505 College SE – The Amberg House
Frank Lloyd Wright was contracted to build the Amberg House in 1910, but most of the work was carried out by his associate, Marion Mahoney, after Wright went to Europe. The Amberg’s daughter, Sophie was married to Meyer May, who had the Frank Lloyd Wright house at 455 Madison SE built in 1909. The house showcases various Wright trademarks including art glass and illuminated ceiling glass. The architectural details and interior furnishings of this home are truly works of art.
220 Paris SE
The house was built in approximately 1890 on property that used to be a part of the Stanford/Wilmarth estate (the house the Community Counseling offices occupy on the corner of Cherry and Paris). The architectural style is Craftsman with Stick-style influences, but it is the hosts’ collection of art and artifacts inside that will fascinate the visitor. Two entry hall murals are unique to the owner. One represents his love of Lake Michigan, the other a tribute to his family — the original Kutsche’s hardware store.
258 Madison SE
Built in 1900, the architectural style of this home can best be described as Queen Anne with Shingle- and Craftsman-style influences. The hosts have owned this home for 24 years and their apartment is open, one of four in the home. More than just a home, it’s a gallery of the owner’s life’s work as a painter and a collection of their many travels.
75 Union SE
This house, built in 1922, is a classic example of a colonial revival, an attractive building style for many dating from the late 1800’s through the 1940’s. It wasn’t until around 1915, however, that it became popular to use brick on the exterior of a colonial revival. It’s believed the current owners are only the 4th owners of this home and its classic detailing and floor plan have remained virtually untouched since its construction. A perfectly designed kitchen and sun porch are favorite rooms of the owners.
254 Fulton East – Women’s City Club
The building that is now home to the Grand Rapids Women’s City Club was originally built for the Martin Sweet family in 1856. Mr. Sweet is best remembered for building Sweet’s Hotel, formerly the Pantlind and now the Amway Grand Plaza. Sweet also served the city as a mayor. After becoming a music school, a boarding house and even standing empty for a short time, the Women’s City Club purchased it in 1924.
267 Sheldon SE – St. Andrew’s Cathedral
The cornerstone of St. Andrew’s Cathedral was laid on May 30, 1875. Its Gothic architecture is characterized by the pointed arches and vaulted stone and its foundation was constructed with the limestone from the Grand River. At 209 feet in length and 192 feet high (its highest steeple), the Cathedral of St. Andrew lends a majestic element to the city’s streetscape. It is home to a parish family of diverse cultures and languages and proudly stands in the
central city as a place of acceptance and hospitality to its neighbors and the community at large. St. Andrew’s just completed a multi-million dollar restoration and
proudly re-opens its doors.
115 College SE – the Voigt House Victorian Museum
Built in 1895 by local businessman, Carl Voigt, this opulent structure is really a romantic adaptation of a French chateau. Home to two generations of the Voigt family, the mansion is furnished with belongings the family used over the years. The Voigt House is a property of the Public Museum of Grand Rapids.